top of page

BLOG 

Search
  • Writer's pictureMHCA Culinary

Handbag Designer Frank LaMendola Passionately Racing Ahead

Updated: Jan 3, 2019


Shoes & Accessories28 Apr 2018




He’s a man who uses his style and creativity for good. Built on a high-level of quality, intricate craftsmanship, and femininity, his collections offer sophisticated choices and affirm the individuality of the consumer. Frank La Mendola shares his views with S&A’S Dipika Chopra,


“As a designer I create each piece with an artisan’s eye for details and a passion for beauty and quality craftsmanship. I believe the handbag a woman carries is an extension of her identity: an expression or her uniqueness and the way she celebrates herself.” He adds, “Throughout my career, I have gained extensive experience in design and product development, with a commitment to excellence, including managing the design process for national department store brands from conception through production. Partnering with merchandising, pre-production, and product development teams creating product appropriate for various channels’ business needs."


Frank prides himself for being highly organized, with a thorough knowledge of raw materials, construction techniques and international resources. He has a keen sense of trend, style and color direction as it relates to each brand’s DNA, with a focus on cost solutions, business strategies and ultimately the consumer.



Q&A with Shoe & Accessories Magazine




On to the design process, do you think that sketching on paper first is necessary, or do you just jump straight into Photoshop or Illustrator or practically crafting?


When I design a collection, I will always start out with rough sketches that determine the overall shape of each silhouette. My next step is to create a 3D prototype. This gives be more info than just a flat sketch. Once I am please with the prototypes and how each style relates to one another, I then create a hand detailed sketch.


With pretty much an unlimited choice, how do you determine what colors will work on your designs?


In addition to designing my own collections, I also consult for various manufacturers. So it is very important that I pay close attention to color trends for each season. I work with several trend forecasting services as well as attending the leather shows that take place, especially Lineapelle in Milano twice a year.


How does your work differentiate from its competition?


That depends on my collection; I incorporate original design in terms of silhouette, materials artwork, embroidery, beading and recently hand painting. This allows my collections to be very original from others. However, when working with clients, usually each client has their own DNA of their brand and I design according to their customers demographic.


Most of the great designers that I know have a certain style that they are known for. What would you classify your work as?


I really love classic styles with an updated twist. I love modern clean lines. Styles that are timeless and at the same time can be trendy. I think this is the most difficult challenge sometimes.


Tell us a little bit about some amazing shapes in your designs


Interesting question. To me what makes a shape amazing is how many units sell (LOL) But seriously speaking, I thinks some of the totes that I have had in the past that have really great lines were my favorite Again, I think when you hold a bag and the way it feels on your shoulder or the crook of your arm determines how amazing it is.


How do trends across international runways affect your styling?


The fashion business is very different today than it was 20 years ago. Especially in the digital world we live in. This past month was Fashion Month throughout the world and I made it a point to live stream as many shows as possible. If I missed any, I would get to see them on my social media platforms. So it is quite easy and critical to pay very close attention to fashion globally.


What are some things that you did to improve your skills?


Take pattern making. Understanding how a bag is made is so valuable for me. I love the technical aspect of design as much as the esthetic part. Learning about materials, leathers, how they are tanned, hardware – how it is produced ….so much to learn after 36 years in this industry I am still learning which is so exciting for me.


Can you give us your main sources of inspiration?


As a designer, so many things inspire me. I never know when or where I will be inspired it could be out in nature, at a museum or even at the grocery store. I think of myself as a sponge constantly absorbing information that I later use in my work.


Looking at so many different designs and creations every day, how do you keep yourself from becoming a copycat?


Many years ago, I worked for companies that wanted me to be a copy-cat – they made a lot of money knocking off other brands. As a designer, that never fulfilled me on a creative level. I do love looking at other designers and I lean a lot about design solutions or different ways to interpret concepts and or trends.  But at the end of the day designing handbags is a business. And the goal is to sell handbags. I think being original is something that evolves over time. Finding your niche and your style happens organically. At least that has been my experience. 




What motivated you to join the India Designer Fair?


To be honest it was a last minute decision. I was traveling to India for business and had to postpone my trip, which worked out perfectly, so I was able to attend the show in Chennai. I am so happy it worked out that way … It was an amazing experience for me and my consulting business 


Did you gain from this association?


Absolutely. I made so many contacts. I sincerely believe that successful business is all about relationship building and this show was a perfect opportunity to do just that. 


What are the Main challenges you have observed so far in respect to visitors?


Follow up. We all have such hectic schedules and are constantly traveling. Thank Goodness for Skype and Whats-Ap, I have had several face to face follow up meetings. Sometimes following up can be a challenge. I will be back in India in a few weeks and have scheduled several follow up meeting during this time. 


What’s your opinion on Indian manufacturers ?


My experience has been very positive. I appreciate the willingness to take on some intricate handcraft projects, that I am not sure I will be able to find elsewhere 


In closing, any last words of advice for those designers who are aspiring to be a the level where you are at?


Yes … NEVER GIVE UP !!! and as long as you love doing what you do, it will never feel like a job … I really feel blessed that after all these years designing ( 36 ) I still can say I love what I do!

64 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page